Skip to main content
Facebook Twitter YouTube

At a glance

Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award

About the Award

The Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award, formerly the Golden Quill Teaching Award, recognizes faculty and instructors at the WVU Reed College of Media who have positively impacted a student’s educational experience. The IMC program recognizes one instructor annually who serves as an effective and inspiring educator, adviser, and mentor in the program’s online environment.

The first IMC Golden Quill Teaching Award went to Alexia Vanides. Alexia passed away in 2011, and in honor of her tremendous service and inspiration to so many students, the program has dedicated the teaching award to her memory.

The award is based solely on student nominations of their instructors. Nominations begin in the Spring of each year. The recipient is recognized during the annual INTEGRATE Conference.

2017 Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award Recipient

Bonnie Harris

Bonnie Harris

The 2017 Alexia Vanides IMC Teaching Award went to Bonnie Harris of St. Paul, Minnesota.

Bonnie Harris joined the WVU IMC program in 2012 as an adjunct instructor, bringing her expertise in integrated marketing communications and more then 20 years of experience to the program. She is a 2007 graduate of the IMC program as well as a graduate of the University of Minnesota. 

Harris is an IMC consultant who has designed and implemented IMC strategies for clients across the United States, including National Geographic and Yale University. In addition to this work, Harris is a published writer whose work has appeared in national magazines including HerSports and Gannett’s YourHealth.

Prior to founding her IMC practice, Harris worked in the technology industry for 16 years, eventually rising to the role of vice president, where she oversaw sales, marketing and operations for nine profit centers in eight states.

She teaches IMC 610 for the WVU IMC program.

Previous Recipients

» 2016 - Bob Sukys

» 2015 – Mike Kohler 

» 2014 – Joe Barnes and Dennis O'Connell

» 2013 – Rachael Post

» 2012 – Karen Freberg and Matthew Cummings

» 2011 – Susan K. Jones

» 2010 – Larry Stultz

» 2009 – Alexia Vanides